Between 1813 and 1884, Jasper House was a rest stop for fur traders and a meeting place for voyageurs, missionaries, and others. The site was named for Jasper Hawes, who operated the trading post from 1814 until 1817. In 1909, the building was dismantled to provide lumber to the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway. Now all that remains is a small cemetery. In 1924, Jasper House was designated a national historic site marked by a commemorative tone and plaque. The site is located about 35-km east of the Jasper townsite and accessed via a short trail to a wooden platform with a lookout across the Athabasca River.