The newest heritage interpretive centre in Crowsnest Pass. The former Alberta Provincial Police barracks embodies one of the Pass’ most famous pieces of history – the story of rum-running during Prohibition and the shooting death of APP constable Steve Lawson. The barracks building was constructed in 1904 for the Coleman detachment of the North West Mounted Police, with a front addition made in 1916. In 1917 it was turned over to the newly-formed Alberta Provincial Police. The APP had been created to combat the illegal importation of alcohol from British Columbia and the United States by the so-called “rum-runners” during Prohibition (1916 – 1924, when the sale and consumption of liquor was illegal in Alberta). The APP was disbanded in 1932 during the Great Depression and many of its members were absorbed into the RCMP or local police forces.